An eviction is the forcible removal of the tenant from her/his home by the Cook County sheriff with a court order signed by a judge after a trial.
Before you can be evicted, the landlord must do two things:
1. SERVE YOU A TERMINATION OF TENANCY NOTICE
There are four different kinds of notices:
- 5 days' notice: this notice is for the nonpayment of rent
- 10 days' notice: this notice is for conduct by you in violation of the terms of the lease
- 30 days' notice: this notice is given if you do not have a written lease
- Letter of non-renewal of written lease: in some cases, 30 days before the end of the term of the lease
2. SUE YOU IN A COURT OF LAW FOR EVICTION
There are two different ways that you can be informed of a lawsuit to evict you:
- Personal service by the sheriff upon you of court papers
- Service of court papers by regular mail from the sheriff
If you have received court papers but cannot move right away, you need to phone us for help (773) 478-1133.
[The Illinois Tenants Union is not a law firm or legal services corporation; however, our executive director is a licensed Illinois attorney. And, we also have relationships with other experienced attorneys who will legally represent tenants should the need arise.]
If you have any questions or would like more information, or to discuss your rights please contact us (773) 478-1133, email us, or use our online request form.